216 N Marshall Ave
Litchfield MN 55355


Monday - Thursday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Closed Sunday

Monday, January 23, 2012

And The Winner Is . . .

 By Jan Pease

Two weeks ago, I described some of the American Library Association Youth Media Awards, especially the ones that I order for the Litchfield Library.   I use it as a personal barometer of how well I’m doing reading the reviews and purchasing books.  This is also is a confession of sorts, as in, “oops, I missed that one.”

The awards I’m most interested in are the Newbery, Caldecott, Sibert, Printz, and Geisel Medals.

The Theodore Seuss Geisel award, given to the most distinguished American book for beginning readers, was awarded to “Tales for Very Picky Eaters,” written and illustrated by Josh Schneider.  Oops, missed that one.  The honor books were “I Broke My Trunk,” “I Want my Hat Back,” and “See Me Run.”  We have “I Broke My Trunk.”  Oops, missed the rest.

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award, given to the author and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book for children, was awarded to Melissa Sweet, author and illustrator of “Balloons over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade.”  Oops, missed that one.  The honor books were "Black & White: The Confrontation between Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene ‘Bull’ Connor," "Drawing from Memory,"  "The Elephant Scientist” and "Witches!: The Absolutely True Tale of Disaster in Salem."  We have “Drawing from Memory,” and “Black and White,” but missed the rest. Oops!
The Michael L. Printz Award is given to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. “Where Things Come Back,” written by John Corey Whaley won the medal this year. Oops, missed that one, but so did every library in Pioneerland Library System. 
The Randolph Caldecott medal is given for most distinguished picture book.  The winner this year is “A Ball for Daisy,” written and illustrated by Chris Raschka.  The good news is that we had it, but the bad news is that it’s overdue and billed.  Oh well.  The Caldecott honor books were “Black Out,” “Me..Jane,” and “Grandpa Green.”  We have “Grandpa Green” but missed the other books. Oops.
Finally, the John Newbery Award is given to the most distinguished children’s book.  The honor books this year were “Inside Out and Back Again,” which we have, and “Breaking Stalin’s Nose.”  No one in Pioneerland Library System has “Breaking Stalin’s Nose.” Oops.   The Newbery medal book is “Dead End In Norvelt,”  by Jack Gantos.  Litchfield has it.  Hooray!
The final score: out of 15 possible books, Jan, 7: Oops, 8.  Of course, those eight books will be ordered this week. It’s interesting to see which books are awarded medals, and always interesting to speculate about why these particular books are chosen.  See you at the library!