Basics

216 N Marshall Ave
Litchfield MN 55355

(320)693-2483

HOURS
Monday - Thursday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Closed Sunday

Friday, June 21, 2013

Books for Youngish Adults

By Jan Pease

Years ago a middle school English teacher lamented the fact that we didn’t really have books for teens in the Litchfield library.  It became a dream of mine to have what we in the library world call young adult books, which are for ages 13 and up,  people who in my opinion aren’t really youngish adults.  But I digress.

These brand new books for teens are found in the Litchfield Young Adult section, which is housed on the far eastern side of the children’s department. (My next dream is to have space closer to the adult department so teens don’t have to come into the children’s area to find books.)

These books are appropriate for older teens, but adults will enjoy them, too.


Teri Terry is from Canada, but has lived in France, Australia, and now in United Kingdom.  Her first novel, “Slated,” is set in a future that could almost happen.  Criminals are given medical amnesia, literally a clean slate, and given a second chance.  They have to relearn everything, including a new identity and a new family.  Teens who have been slated are closely monitored for behavior, and only have one chance to be rehabilitated.   If you couldn’t remember who you are or what you did, and can’t really trust anyone, how would you survive?

“Orleans,” by Sherri L. Smith, is another futuristic look at what the world could look like when global warming causes even more destructive hurricanes, storm surges, and the rising of sea level.  When a new disease emerges, people become grouped by blood type rather than class or race.  The heroine takes a terrifying journey through devastated New Orleans, trying to save a baby and find it a better life.


Catherine Fisher already has loyal fans because of her compelling series, “Incarceron.”   The book description for her new book, “Obsidian Mirror,” states:  “With superb world-building that includes the real world, the faery world, and a dystopic future, this hauntingly astonishing adventure is the start of a new trilogy from the master of the sci-fi/fantasy genre, Catherine Fisher.  Fans of Orson Scott Card, Dr. Who, Shakespeare, and Blade Runner won't be disappointed.”   I couldn’t put it better, but this description has inspired me to read this one.


“The Different Girl,” by Gordon Dahlquist, is one of those books that make you wonder when you read the reviews at amazon.com.  People seem to either love or hate this book about four identical girls whose serene life on an island unravels when an outsider is blown ashore during a storm.  I don’t want to give   away the plot, but ”The Different Girl” reminds me of the classic “Star Trek” episodes where Captain Kirk encounters characters who don’t realize that they are androids.  I haven’t read “The Different Girl,” yet, but it’s on my list. 


These books and 10,000 more, are waiting for you in the Children’s Department of the library.